Longing For Love by Marie Force

Oh my! I finished Longing For Love by Marie Force, the 7th book in the McCarthy’s of Gansett Island, and I’m just feeling so wishy-washy.

I’m going to be lazy and use Goodreads.com’s overview:
Welcome back to Gansett Island!

Series favorite Tiffany Sturgil steals the spotlight in Longing for Love as her new boutique Naughty & Nice opens in downtown Gansett, right in time for the annual spring Race Week festivities. Finally divorced and ready for a new beginning, Tiffany wonders if sexy Police Chief Blaine Taylor thinks of her as often as she thinks of him since their explosive encounter last fall. Back then he directed her to call him the second she was officially divorced, but the opening of her store and her unconventional advertising “campaign” have put the island’s lingerie queen at odds with the town’s top cop. Despite their clashes, when these two finally get together after months of steamy build up, readers will need to keep a fire extinguisher close at hand!

Blaine has been burned in the past by love affairs gone wrong, and he’s wary about risking too much too soon. But he quickly discovers that Tiffany’s sarcastic rejoinders and bitter outer shell hide a badly wounded heart of gold. He also discovers she’s a “sex-toy fraud” and convinces her she can’t possibly sell the merchandise without trying it out first… While he finds himself thinking of her all the time, the mayor is after him to curb her sexy advertising and his mother worries that Blaine has taken on another “project” who will break his heart.

As Blaine and Tiffany fight for their happily ever after, readers’ favorite characters from past books are back for more island adventures. Joe and Janey return to Gansett for the summer and discover the big secret his mother has been keeping. Evan learns that Grace hasn’t told her parents about him. Stephanie’s restaurant is ready to open in the renovated Sand & Surf. Dan keeps showing up to “visit” Kara at work, Mac is worried about Maddie’s upcoming meeting with her deadbeat dad and a Race Week catastrophe reminds everyone what’s really important.

The McCarthys of Gansett Island takes a decidely erotic turn in this seventh book! If hot, sexy men in uniform cavorting with hot, sexy women who sell sex toys for a living aren’t your thing, this book might not be for you!

My Opinion:

Hmmm. In general, I love this series. It’s hands-down my favorite series. I love that in each book, you get to revisit previous characters and see how those relationships are progressing.  But…at the same time, it’s also one of my biggest peeves with the series.
In Longing For Love, it’s quite prominent. About half of the book focuses on all of the past characters.  I enjoyed catching up with old friends, but shouldn’t the focus be on the current characters? Also, there was a new romance brewing from characters who were tiny players in past books. I actually liked that storyline as much as the main one and wish we were able to get some more time with the people.

Ok, Ok. I’m going to focus on the main story and couple.  Tiffany Sturgil was never my favorite character.  I kinda despised her since book one, no real reason behind it. She was not a character I was thrilled with.  Her personality clashes with mine, I suppose.  Tiffany did grow on me this time around, though.  I enjoyed her confidence boosting and her positive hopes for the future, compared to her previous handcuffing weakness.  Then we have Blaine. I loved him from the moment he told Tiffany he’d beg for mercy.  Officer Hottie can dominate his way into my  bed heart anytime he wants.  I wish Blaine was given slightly more depth, but I can’t complain about his erotic charm.

I enjoyed Tiffany and Blaine’s coming together. It took them quite some time to get together, but it was definitely worth it.  This book took on a more erotic vibe, partly due to Tiffany’s store’s unique offerings.  I liked the book, gave it 4 out of 5 stars.  I think Tiffany and Blaine could’ve had more of a story, but I get the feeling we’ll be seeing them again.

I just hope we get more Kara and Dan. 😉

 

I’m sure I’ll be updating this review in the morning, sorry for the rambles!!

About Romantic Moments Book Blog

Lynnie is an avid reader with a soft spot for romance. Her addiction to all things lovey-dovey began when she was introduced to the black-haired, blue-eyed angel named Prince Eric at the age of 4. Once she realized she could never win his heart from Ariel, Lynnie aimed her sight on more realistic options, like Cory Matthews and the members of NSYNC. Now nearing her 30s, Lynnie is living her happily-ever-after in a small New England town. She shares her castle with her very own Prince Charming and their 2 (fur) babies. When she is not reading for pleasure, Lynnie is a freelance editor and writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

