The Marriage Trap (Marriage to the Billionaire #2) by Jennifer Probst

Last week I said I would read and review The Marriage Trap by Jennifer Probst.  I did read it, but I lacked the motivation to write out a review.  I seem to have the time to write since I’m now lacking the motivation to read.

Overview: 

In The Marriage Trap, the sequel to The Marriage Bargain, we enjoy following Maggie Ryan fight and fall in love with Michael Conte.  Maggie is the sister/sister-in-law/best friend of the main characters in the first book.  Maggie grew up wealthy, but neglected, also dealing with some trama in her teen years. Michael is the Italian businessman who became fast friends with Alexa and business partner with Nicholas. Maggie believes Michael to be in love with Alexa, so she’s constantly at battle with the sexy Italian.

Due to family obligations, Michael needs Maggie’s help in Italy, trying to convince his family that they are married. The brash New Yorker and seductive Italian spend the next week dealing with sweet siblings and a witty Mama.

My Opinion:

I had high hopes for this sequel. I enjoyed Maggie’s friendship in the first book and loved Michael’s sexy charm from the first teasing moment with Alexa.  I think Michael was still as wonderful, even in his high-handedness, but Maggie. Nah-uh, can’t stand her.  Her belief that Michael was after Alexa’s heart got on my nerves instantly.  It takes two to have a relationship.  Maggie was so certain something bad would happen between the two friends, but she showed no faith in Alexa. It was disappointing! Maggie should know and trust Alexa’s judgement, or at least trust Alexa to love her brother enough.  I understand her lack in faith towards men, but I was screaming (in my head) at Maggie.

While I didn’t enjoy Maggie, I did love the Conte family.  I wish I had Mama Conte around to teach me to make pasta! And the sisters, I’m so excited for Carina’s book.  The sisters were snarky and sweet, the perfect combination.

I would rate this book 3.5 out of 5 stars.  The storyline was good and most of the characters were great.  The love scenes are sexy, but not too much so.  I’d definitely recommend this book and the series.

 

About Romantic Moments Book Blog

Lynnie is an avid reader with a soft spot for romance. Her addiction to all things lovey-dovey began when she was introduced to the black-haired, blue-eyed angel named Prince Eric at the age of 4. Once she realized she could never win his heart from Ariel, Lynnie aimed her sight on more realistic options, like Cory Matthews and the members of NSYNC. Now nearing her 30s, Lynnie is living her happily-ever-after in a small New England town. She shares her castle with her very own Prince Charming and their 2 (fur) babies. When she is not reading for pleasure, Lynnie is a freelance editor and writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

