Borrowing Alex by Cindy Procter-King

Hey y’all. I know, I know. I haven’t been around lately.  We decided to do a bathroom remodel in our house this summer and you know how it goes…what can go wrong will go wrong.  A project that we hoped would only take a week to 2 weeks max took over a month.  Ugh.  Anyway…

 

I received Borrowing Alex by Cindy Procter-King from Netgalley and Blue Orchard Books.  I loved Ms. Procter-King’s Love and other Calamities series, so I was excited to see this book was going to be revamped and re-released. I didn’t have the opportunity to read the book when it was first released, so it was a new read for me. I’ve been stalking her website like a fiend waiting to see if any announcements would be made about Borrowing Alex’s release. You can imagine my excitement when I saw it was available on Netgalley!

So…Borrowing Alex…  I liked it, but I felt like something was missing.  Alex was a good character, believable and realistic.  Nikki, on the other hand, not so much. When she wasn’t being obsessive, immature, and naive, I enjoyed her. I just couldn’t combine the brainy vet assistant with the airhead bride-to-be.  I understand heartache and all, but my gosh!! Her entire plan just doesn’t fit with the girl who secretly got a degree in biology.Overall, Borrowing Alex was a decent read. It was silly and had it’s charming moments. I give it 3 1/4 stars and would recommend it to friends, with a warning about the ditziness.

 

Thanks Netgalley and Blue Orchard Books!!

About Romantic Moments Book Blog

Lynnie is an avid reader with a soft spot for romance. Her addiction to all things lovey-dovey began when she was introduced to the black-haired, blue-eyed angel named Prince Eric at the age of 4. Once she realized she could never win his heart from Ariel, Lynnie aimed her sight on more realistic options, like Cory Matthews and the members of NSYNC. Now nearing her 30s, Lynnie is living her happily-ever-after in a small New England town. She shares her castle with her very own Prince Charming and their 2 (fur) babies. When she is not reading for pleasure, Lynnie is a freelance editor and writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

