Thoughts: Why do Authors Portray Men as Man-Whores?

In my recent review of Riley Rhea’s Remember Love, I touched on the subject that has been plaguing me over the past few years: Why do authors portray men as man-whores?

I first began reading Romance books regularly about 4 years ago. Before then, I had read the occasional Women’s Lit (not a fan of that label), and those books usually had a romantic storyline to them. I’m not ashamed to say Twilight by Stephanie Meyer brought out the romance reader in me and my addiction grew out of that. After enjoying Twilight, the friend who got me started with Twilight suggested I read the Sookie Stackhouse series by Charlaine Harris…and there I found out how sexy literature can be.

Once I completed the books available in that series, I used Goodreads to expand my horizons. That site has helped me discover so many wonderful authors, and the fellow readers I have met through the site have become some of my closest friends. Thanks to the site’s “read” feature, I know I have read nearly 2,000 books in the past 4 years (don’t worry, many of them were short novellas).

Unless you are reading a religious-themed romance, I think it’s safe to say that 75% of heroes written these days are portrayed as being quite promiscuous. On average, the heroes are known to sleep with a different woman each month, some more frequently at each week (and even each night). My question is: Why??  What is the appeal of a hero who is promiscuous? I’m serious. If an author is reading this, I would love to know. Why has this become the norm?

I know enough men to know that these numbers aren’t average. Even scientific studies have found that the average guy sleeps with approximately 10 people in their lifetime. That would be an annual total for some of the heroes written these days.

Personally, I am not a fan. I majored in Public Health and my senior thesis was on the prevalence of STDs in today’s society. I know these books are fiction, but my brain works in statistics and logic. I cannot shut off the fact that condoms do not fully prevent a good chunk of diseases, like HPV and Herpes. If a guy is promiscuous, his chances of catching either life-long, no cure disease greatly increase. Crusty, lumpy penises aren’t attractive and I think any woman would agree that an itchy vagina is not a happy vagina.

I do not let my feelings influence my rating or opinions for a book, mainly because I wouldn’t have anything to read if I did and again, I know it’s fiction. Most of the time, authors don’t constantly bring up that detail, so it’s soon forgotten. But why have a hero be promiscuous in the first place?

Someone please give me some answers!! 🙂

About Romantic Moments Book Blog

Lynnie is an avid reader with a soft spot for romance. Her addiction to all things lovey-dovey began when she was introduced to the black-haired, blue-eyed angel named Prince Eric at the age of 4. Once she realized she could never win his heart from Ariel, Lynnie aimed her sight on more realistic options, like Cory Matthews and the members of NSYNC. Now nearing her 30s, Lynnie is living her happily-ever-after in a small New England town. She shares her castle with her very own Prince Charming and their 2 (fur) babies. When she is not reading for pleasure, Lynnie is a freelance editor and writer.
This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

