Review: Pieces of You by Ella Harper


Pieces of You by Ella Harper
Release Date: August 14, 2014

Blurb:
Lucy. I don’t even know how to start this letter.
Something happened. Something terrible . . .
Lucy was always sure of one thing – her future with husband and soulmate Luke. But after eight long, heartbreaking years trying to have a baby, that future is crumbling before her eyes.
When a terrible accident puts Luke into a coma, Lucy is forced to reassess everything she thought she wanted.
Then a woman arrives with a shocking secret that will force Lucy to make the hardest decision of her life.

Review:

Pieces of You by Ella Harper was the emotional story of how an entire family deals with a tragedy and a scandal. Lucy has the ideal relationship with her husband Luke, except their inability to have children. There have been close calls, but each attempt has ended in heartbreak. To add to the suffering, Luke is severely injured, putting him in a coma. During this time, a scandalous secret is revealed, throwing Lucy’s already teetering life in to a tailspin.

I wanted so badly for the secret not to be true. I was rooting for Stella to be a conniving liar, so I was disappointed when the truth was revealed. Pieces of You had a good plot and pulled me in, leaving me wanting to know what was going to happen next. The characters were believable and their feelings were nearly palpable.

Would I recommend this book? I’m not sure. While I thought the plot was strong, I was not a fan of all the different POVs. I understand their importance, being able to see the toll the accident is having on everyone, but it was too much for me. I think the story would have been just as engaging without seeing what Luke’s family was going through. As always though, to each his/her own. Never base your judgement on what I say, for I am just a normal gal.

 

*I received Pieces of You from HarperCollins UK, Avon via Negalley for my honest review.

About Romantic Moments Book Blog

Lynnie is an avid reader with a soft spot for romance. Her addiction to all things lovey-dovey began when she was introduced to the black-haired, blue-eyed angel named Prince Eric at the age of 4. Once she realized she could never win his heart from Ariel, Lynnie aimed her sight on more realistic options, like Cory Matthews and the members of NSYNC. Now nearing her 30s, Lynnie is living her happily-ever-after in a small New England town. She shares her castle with her very own Prince Charming and their 2 (fur) babies. When she is not reading for pleasure, Lynnie is a freelance editor and writer.
This entry was posted in Review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

